To enhance security and privacy, Zoom will require that all meetings have either the Passcode or Waiting Room feature enabled beginning on Sunday, Sept. 27, 2020.
- The Waiting Room feature allows hosts to control when participants join the meeting. Hosts can admit attendees one by one, or they can wait and admit everyone at the same time. Please note that when the Waiting Room feature is enabled, attendees are not able to join before the host, even if the Join Before Host option is selected.
- The Passcode feature (formerly known as the Password feature) secures the meeting by requiring participants to enter a passcode provided to them by the host.
If you do not have either feature enabled, Zoom will enable the Waiting Room feature for your meetings on Sept. 27. If you already have the Passcode or Waiting Room feature enabled for your Zoom meetings, your meeting settings will remain the same after Sept. 27.
Additional details and answers to frequently asked questions are available on Zoom’s website.