Box: Removing Yourself from Shared Folders and Files | Information Technology | University of Pittsburgh
!

Box: Removing Yourself from Shared Folders and Files

Box is ending unlimited storage and putting in place significant changes to its licensing structure. After discussions with various stakeholders, analyzing survey feedback from Pitt Box users, and evaluating alternatives, the University has decided to replace Box with Microsoft OneDrive for cloud storage and collaboration by August 2022. Pitt Information Technology will migrate users’ Box data to Microsoft OneDrive and is committed to providing a smooth transition. Learn how you can prepare for the migration...

If you no longer need access to a Box folder or file that someone has shared with you, you can remove yourself as a collaborator by completing the steps below. 

Remove Yourself from a Shared Folder

Shared folders display alongside a blue folder icon and typically contain multiple files. 

To remove yourself from a shared folder, follow these steps:  

1. Log in to pitt.box.com.

2. Click the ellipsis (...) next to the shared folder from which you want to be removed, click More Actions, and select End Collaboration

Remove Yourself from a Shared File

Individual files can also be shared. These files may or may not be part of a shared folder. You can remove yourself from an individual file that has been shared with you by following these steps. 

1. Log in to pitt.box.com.

2. Click the ellipsis (...) next to the file from which you want to be removed, select More Actions, then select Manage Collaborators.

3. Under the Permissions column, click the drop-down arrow next to your name and select Remove.